Homeschool: A few of my favorite start up resources!

I went in to homeschooling with many reservations. You can read about all those here.

When people are deciding to homeschool they usually feel overwhelmed, and have no clue where to start. There are tons of resources online to help people in this situation. In this post I will to list my favorite resources that helped me decide where to start, what curriculum to use, if I should even use a curriculum, and just overall support.

HLSDA (Home School Legal Defense Association)
The website is chalked full of amazing resources. You can also become a member, and be backed legally if ever such a situation arises.

Here are just a few of my favorite links:

  • “Getting Started” This section helped me out greatly when I first started!
  • “My State” In this section you can read up on your states laws, legislation, and find other amazing local resources! When you first take the plung- most people do not consider the legal aspect,more the fact that every state is different.

Alpha Omega Publications
I chose a curriculum that was laid out for me. This made it a lot easier going in to this brand new knowing absolutely nothing about homeschooling! I went with a faith based curriculum- that is just a personal preference. I also chose books over a online or computer based curriculum because I like a paper trail and I like a hard copy in my hand! Their customer service is amazing also. I have called them many times just to ask questions to help me understand the different curriculums!

Here are AOP comparisons:

You Tube– Yep! I love some of the FREE resources I find on there. Here’s a few of my favorites!

Facebook and Community Groups– There are all sorts of support groups out there! Facebook is great because it gives you the ability to get ideas and support for all over the country, and from HSers from every level. You can also find local support groups- some of which meet up occasionally such as- gym groups, mommy groups, curriculum/idea swap groups, etc. There are also co-ops in some areas. They are great because they offer support, give your child a chance to socialize with other homeschoolers, and often times co-ops will do classes once a week or once a month. That gives you and your child a break from the same day to day routine!

Lastly, I just want to share a few of my other favorite websites and blogs:

I hope you have found this some what resourceful! Never hesitate to contact us if you have any questions. We can be reached through the contact section here on the blog, on Facebook, and on Twitter!

20140310-134551.jpg

Leave a Reply

